Why Am I Pro-Life? Because Uncertainty Demands a Cautious Response

 Here’s the logic of being prolife in the midst of uncertainty

President Obama once said that determining when a fetus gains human rights was a question above his pay grade.

And in its Roe v Wade decision making abortion legal, the US Supreme Court said we don’t know, can’t know when human life begins to have value.

Image by D Medina

Image by D Medina

Here’s something to think about. Say you’re driving on a rainy night and you see a large object in the middle of the road. It could be a body, but you can’t see a face or feet or hands. As Christians we have a moral obligation to stop and see if someone is in trouble.

But.

Maybe you truly can’t stop because you’re on the way to the hospital for an emergency. You just don’t know what it is–and you can’t know because you can’t stop. Doesn’t that mean that you are obliged at the very least to avoid hitting it and perhaps killing an innocent human being? (Thanks to Scott Klusendorf for this analogy from his book The Case for Life.)

Scientific or moral ambiguity does not justify killing innocent human beings.

I was once so uncertain on this question that I made a fatal mistake and destroyed the life of my unborn child. I learned the value of caution too late. I thank God that I am justified by Christ’s sacrifice, but I bear the sadness of someone missing in my life for the last thirty-seven years. Even so, I am confident that my child lost to abortion is safe in the Savior’s arms until we meet in heaven.

If you share this sin, there is hope and help for your healing too. I am prolife because I learned the hard way–when we truly don’t know we should always err on the side of life.

PLEASE NOTE: If you have already had an abortion, please know that I wrote Cradle My Heart, Finding God’s Love After Abortion just for you. Throughout its pages you will find affirmation and hope from the Scriptures. You may also browse a list of resources for help and healing. The Good News is that you are forgiven in Jesus’ Name and you will be welcomed into fellowship as you seek your restoration.

If you are pregnant and need free, confidential help call 1-800-712-HELP. If you’ve had an abortion and need help call 1-866-482-LIFE.

Join us on Cradle My Heart Radio as we discuss the news of the week. We’re open for your calls or you may leave a comment below. You’re invited to call in during the show to ask a question or make a comment on the air during our open phones from 9:30-10 pm ET Sundays on our Faith Radio affilitates. The toll free number to call is 800-811-3003. If you would prefer to ask a question by email write to me at kim@kimketola.com before air time. Please let me know if you prefer to remain anonymous or receive an answer off-the-air. For a list of radio stations or to tune in to Cradle My Heart live streaming on the Internet, go here. Smart phone users can listen on tunein linked here. The show is podcast on iTunes and archived here.

Join us for Cradle My Heart Radio with Kim Ketola Live on Sundays 9-10 pm ET, and Wednesdays at 8 pm ET on NewLife FM.

Leave a Reply

